Skip to content

Alpine Lodge Loop the Lake 2021

What a day it was a week ago. So many prepared runners ready to take on the challenge of the Alpine Lodge Loop the Lake.

Mark Matt Ogden’s name down as a perennial podium finisher in any future trail run he enters judging by his performance in Saturday’s 27th Alpine Lodge Loop the Lake.

His slick 1.41.59 for the 25km circuit of Lake Rotoiti in Nelson’s famed Lakes National Park was a class act as he outgunned his fellow 258 finishers.

Ben Williams ( Greymouth ) was within reach at the rope assisted Travers River crossing at the halfway point but by the Kerr Bay finish, daylight and over 3 minutes separated them. Ben Sinclair put in an honest performance picking up third.

Josie Wilcox, when a Nelson junior, was nurturing towards a top athlete, especially when she won the 2009 Dun Run. A few years have passed plus plenty of Mountainbike event victories. Home for the weekend from her Palmerston North base she showed she can still lace up a fast pair of running shoes to register 1.59.29 and join an elite bunch of women who have eclipsed 2 hours.

Wakefield’s Jodie Dobson toiled hard for another second placing while Kirsten Hall ( Christchurch) discovered that wet feet are not ideal plus tamer off territory is more to her liking, but coming home third is no disappointment.

One record was broken with Auckland’s Maggie Peat erasing Yvonne West’s longstanding 2013 time in the  60+ Section.

Numbers were down naturally with the  2020 Covid postponed event only happening back in November but 2022 is bound to bounce back to Sell Out Status when that comes around..tentatively over Anzac Weekend.

Both July’s Captain Cook’s Landing along the Queen Charlotte Track in July plus October’s Abel Tasman Coastal Classic have Waiting Lists but trailrunners should consider stepping into the “Backwoods of Nelson” on August 28th and joining over 250 others in The Dun Run.



Matt Ogden, Nelson Ben Williams, Greymouth Regan Sinclair Nelson .1.56.32, 3.

Age Group Winners: Under 40. Matt Ogden. 40-49. Justin Sim, Nelson 2.03.47. 50-59. Michael Nicholls, Auckland 2.14.57. 60+ Graeme Moss, Wellington. 2.28.49.


Josie Wilcox, Palmerston North. Jodi Dobson, Wakefield. 2.11.18. 2. Kirsten Hall, Christchurch.

Age Group Winners:

Under 40. Josie Wilcox. 40-49. Claire LeGrice, Christchurch. 2.25.05. 50-59. Prue Orchiston, Dunedin. 2.42.56. 60+ Maggie Peat, Auckland. 2.32.04 Record.

Date will be confirmed this week for the 2022 event.

Back To Top